25 Men’s and Women’s Nominees Set For 2022 Tewaaraton Award

The 2022 men’s and women’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees have been announced.

The field of 25 men and 25 women will be narrowed to five finalists in three weeks at the conclusion of the regular season. The nominees come after a series of Watch Lists at preseason and intervals during the year.

Georgetown and Maryland led men’s nominees with three each, while North Carolina leads the women’s nominees with four.

25 Men’s Nominees
  • Will Bowen, Georgetown – Grad. Student, Defense
  • Matt Brandau, Yale – Jr., Attack
  • Graham Bundy Jr., Georgetown – Jr., Midfield
  • Zach Cole, Saint Joseph’s – Sr., Face Off
  • Tucker Dordevic, Syracuse – Sr., Midfield
  • Chris Gray, North Carolina – Grad. Student, Attack
  • Sam Handley, Pennsylvania – Sr., Midfield
  • Jack Hannah, Denver – Grad. Student, Midfield
  • Cole Kastner, Virginia – Soph., Defense
  • Patrick Kavanagh, Notre Dame – Jr., Attack
  • Colin Kirst, Rutgers – Grad. Student, Goalie
  • Ryan Lanchbury, Richmond – Grad. Student, Attack
  • Brett Makar, Maryland – Sr., Defense
  • Owen McElroy, Georgetown – Grad. Student, Goalie
  • Jack Myers, Ohio State – Sr., Attack
  • Brendan Nichtern, Army West Point – Sr., Attack
  • Asher Nolting, High Point – Grad. Student, Attack
  • Brennan O’Neill, Duke – Soph., Attack
  • Erik Peters, Princeton – Sr., Goalie
  • John Piatelli, Cornell – Sr., Attack
  • Ross Scott, Rutgers – Jr., Attack
  • Connor Shellenberger, Virginia – Soph., Attack
  • Mike Sisselberger, Lehigh – Sr., Face Off
  • Luke Wierman, Maryland – Jr., Face Off
  • Logan Wisnauskas, Maryland – Fifth Year Senior, Attack

This year’s list of women’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees Presented by AXIA Time features players from 15 different schools, led by North Carolina with four and Maryland with three. In all, 10 players return from the 2021 list of nominees, including last year’s winner Charlotte North (Boston College), and returning finalists Taylor Moreno (UNC) and Jamie Ortega (UNC).

25 women’s nominees
  • Catriona Barry, Duke – Grad. Student, Attack
  • Abby Bosco, Maryland – Grad. Student, Defense
  • Sarah Cooper, Syracuse – Sr., Defense
  • Aurora Cordingley, Maryland – Grad. Student, Attack
  • Katie Detwiler, Loyola – Sr., Defense
  • Lauren Gilbert, Northwestern – Grad. Student, Attack
  • Jill Girardi, Northwestern – Grad. Student, Midfield
  • Maddie Jenner, Duke – Sr., Attack
  • Ellie Masera, Stony Brook – Soph., Midfield
  • Ally Mastroianni, North Carolina – Grad. Student, Midfield
  • Taylor Moreno, North Carolina – Grad. Student, Goalie
  • Charlotte North, Boston College – Grad. Student, Attack
  • Jamie Ortega, North Carolina – Sr., Attack
  • Danielle Pavinelli, Florida – Soph., Attack
  • Isabella Peterson, James Madison – Soph., Attack
  • Livy Rosenzweig, Loyola – Grad. Student, Attack
  • Kyla Sears, Princeton – Sr., Attack
  • Belle Smith, Boston College – Soph., Midfield
  • Cassidy Spilis, Rutgers – Jr., Midfield
  • Emily Sterling, Maryland – Jr., Goalie
  • Sam Thacker, Denver – Jr., Defense
  • Emma Trenchard, North Carolina – Sr., Defense
  • Meaghan Tyrrell, Syracuse – Sr., Attack
  • Sydney Watson, UConn – 5th year, Midfield
  • Arielle Weissman, Michigan – Grad. Student, Goalie

Full release from Tewaaraton:

WASHINGTON, DC April 21 – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2022 men’s and women’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees Presented by AXIA Time. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are comprised of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be selected from these groups, to be announced in three weeks at the conclusion of the regular season.

“The Tewaaraton Nominees are an extraordinary group of athletes,” said Andy Phillips, President of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “The depth and dispersion of talent in college lacrosse has never been greater, and we are excited to watch the Nominees perform over the closing stretch of the 2022 season.”

The 2022 Tewaaraton Watch Lists Presented by AXIA Time were first unveiled Feb. 10, with additions announced March 10 and April 1. The five men and five women finalists will be announced in early May and will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, DC, on June 2.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation, visit tewaaraton.com. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at facebook.com/tewaaraton, twitter.com/tewaaraton and instagram.com/tewaaraton.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of

Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six nations of the Haudenosaunee / Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit www.tewaaraton.com.

About AXIA Time

AXIA Time, established 2018, creates custom Swiss made self-winding timepieces that commemorate some of life’s greatest achievements. AXIA Time was born out of founder John Kanaras’ love of horology and his alma mater. After helping to lead the 1988 Penn Quakers to an Ivy League Championship and Final Four appearance, the University gifted each player a championship watch that, while it held great sentimental value, it didn’t measure up to the memories it represented. For 30 years he looked for a watch of quality and design that would match the essence of his alma mater and memories from that time. When he couldn’t find what he was looking for, he built it himself. AXIA (pronounced ahx-EE-ah) means value / worth in Greek and is at the heart of the company’s mission: to exceed expectations in everything they do. From the designs and quality of the components they use, to the purchase experience of their customers, their intention is to treat people exactly the way they would want to be treated. Maybe better.https: //www.insidelacrosse.com/article/tewaaraton-announces-second-round-of-additions-adds-more-diii-players/59270

Leave a Comment